## 2008 Sparty Award Winners: MIPA Summer Journalism Workshop

| NAME                                  | SCHOOL                  | CLASS                         | AWARD TITLE                         |
|---------------------------------------|-------------------------|-------------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| Kristyn Cormier                       | Athens HS               | Opinion Coverage              | Opinion Writing                     |
| Jessica Tchoryk                       | Chelsea HS              | Feature Coverage              | Feature Coverage                    |
| Corey Shattuck                        | Clarenceville HS        | Photo for Publication 1       | Outstanding Portfolio               |
| Nicole Geller                         | DeWitt HS               | Multimedia Thing              | It's a Multimedia Thing             |
| Alex Everard                          | Dexter HS               | Bobby Hawthorne Experience    | The Bobby Hawthorne Experience      |
| Kyle Oberle                           | Dexter HS               | You're Designing the NP       | Outstanding Center Spread Design    |
| Ellen Busch                           | East Grand Rapids HS    | Entertainment Coverage        | Entertainment Coverage              |
| Kayce Hathaway                        | Fenton HS               | Business Management           | Business Management and Design      |
| Caroline Hyslop                       | Fenton HS               | Illustrator and Info Graphics | Most Sophisticated Graphic Designer |
| Griffin Haywood                       | Findlay HS              | Sports Photo                  | Best Portfolio                      |
| Zen Pace                              | Flint Central HS        | Broadcast & VJ                | Broadcast and Video Journalism      |
| Lauren McCarthy                       | Forest Hills Eastern HS | Photo for Publication 2       | Outstanding Portfolio               |
| Kirsten Schnackenberg                 | Greenwich Academy       | NP Editors                    | Editorial Leadership                |
| Mary Biglin                           | Grosse Pointe South HS  | NP InDesign                   | Mastery of InDesign                 |
| Devin Zoltowski                       | Grosse Pointe South HS  | Shoot First, Photoshop Later  | Best Photojournalism Portfolio      |
| Malorie Urda                          | Haslett HS              | Photoshop Creative Techniques | Photoshop Creative Techniques       |
| Tess Haadsma                          | Lakeview HS-BC          | Taking Your NP to the Edge    | Best Edgy Story Packaging           |
| Anne Brown                            | Loy Norrix HS           | NP Editors                    | Editorial Leadership                |
| Maggie Sikkema                        | Loy Norrix HS           | NP Advanced InDesign          | Outstanding Achievement in Design   |
| Kira Boneff                           | Mercy HS                | NP InDesign                   | Outstanding Design                  |
| · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · |                         |                               |                                     |

## 2008 Sparty Award Winners: MIPA Summer Journalism Workshop

| NAME                  | SCHOOL                   | CLASS                         | AWARD TITLE                        |
|-----------------------|--------------------------|-------------------------------|------------------------------------|
| Maggie Moore          | Midland HS               | Photoshop Begins with Photo   | Outstanding Portfolio              |
| Bailey McCarthy Riley | Ogemaw Heights HS        | Multimedia Thing              | It's a Multimedia Thing            |
| Alex McCarthy         | Portage Central HS       | Sports Coverage               | Strongest Sports Feature           |
| Emily Ruff-Wilkinson  | Roeper School            | Bobby Hawthorne Experience    | The Bobby Hawthorne Experience     |
| Maria Guido           | Southgate Anderson HS    | Writing & Design Fundamentals | Exceptional Effort and Performance |
| Eli Bergsma           | Thornapple Kellogg HS    | Broadcast & VJ                | Broadcast and Video Journalism     |
| Lydia Belanger        | Traverse City Central HS | Bobby Hawthorne Experience    | The Bobby Hawthorne Experience     |
| Keegan Mogg           | Troy HS                  | You're Designing the YB       | Yearbook Graphic Design            |
| Beth Nowinski         | Troy HS                  | Complete YB                   | Excellence in Writing and Design   |
| Kaitlyn Kent          | Waterford Kettering HS   | Taking Your YB to the Edge    | Outstanding Design and Packaging   |
| Tiffany Priess        | Willow Run HS            | YB Editors in Chief           | Outstanding Classroom Work         |