Congratulations to these Michigan programs, students and advisers who were named finalists for National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences 2017 National Student Production Awards and National Scholastic Press Association annual contests.

2017 National Student Production Awards

General Assignment – Serious News
Domestic Abuse, Davison HS
Alesia Paxton, Bailey Talaska
Randy Scott, Adviser

Music Video
Music Video, Athens TV – Troy Athens HS
Alana Richardson, Claire Davis, Eleri Watkins
Adam Burns, Adviser

Jarod Clark Director Reel, Royal Oak HS
Jarod Clark
Mike Conrad, Advisor

Video Essay (Single Camera Only)
We’re making our dreams happen…, Rockford HS
Ilene Gould
Kris DeYoung, Adviser

LISTEN!, Dearborn HS
Madison Murdoch
Kurt Doelle, Advisor


2017 Broadcast Pacemaker finalists
DTV, Davison HS

2017 Newspaper Pacemaker finalists
Uncaged, Stockbridge HS

2017 Design of the Year finalists
Jenny She, The Hawkeye, Bloomfield Hills HS

2017 Picture of the Year finalists

  • Max Behm, Echo, Grand Blanc HS
  • Jessica Pierce, Esprit de Corps, Eisenhower HS
  • Mazey Perry, The Communicator, Ann Arbor Community HS
  • Alec Redding, The Communicator, Ann Arbor Community HS