The Ben Daniels Band at the MIPA Summer Workshop.

The Ben Daniels Band concert at the 2012 MIPA Summer Workshop. Photo by Emma Howells, Montgomery Blair HS; Sparty Award for
Excellence in Photojournalism

MIPA’s 2012 Summer Workshop included nearly 400 students from across the country, who stayed on campus from July 29-Aug. 2.

The Sparty Award honors is the summer workshop’s top honor.

Shelby Roland, Stevenson HS
Best in Feature Coverage

Elizabeth Martin, Fenton HS
Best Information Graphic

Hannah Lee, Jack Mangold & Madyson Alexander; Lakota East HS
Best Overall Business Staff Planning

Brian Palmer, Rochester HS
Best Overall Design

Hunter Miller, Lakota East HS
Best Overall Photojournalism Portfolio

Sam Forstner, East Grand Rapids HS
Best Sports Story

Madeline Stroin, Lake Orion HS
Best Writer & Photographer

Olivia Porath, Howell HS
Broadcast Leadership

Emma Howells, Montgomery Blair HS
Excellence in Photojournalism

Katie Vontom, Dexter HS
Excellence in Sports Photography

Eva Nienhouse, Traverse City Central HS
Excellence in TV Reporting

Jeff Back, Lakota East HS
Going to the Edge the Most Times

James Coller, L’Anse Creuse HS North
Going to the Edge the Most Ways

Megan Fleming, Grosse Pointe South HS
InDesign Page Excellence

Jacob Grush, Clarkston HS
Journalism Excellence

Dixxon Darlington, Waterford Kettering HS
Outstanding Design Portfolio

Simon Sun, Stoney Creek HS
Outstanding Feature Page

Lauren DeHaan, Dexter HS
Overall Excellence

Austin Ward, Laingsburg HS
Portfolio Excellence

Kelly Martinek, Seaholm HS
Strongest Opinions with Sophistication

Sara Rice, Waterford Kettering HS
Super Design Skills

Joe Salvato, Rolling Meadows HS
That’s Entertainment

Emma Kauffman, Cedar Springs HS
The Bobby Hawthorne Experience

Rachel Sinclair, Midland HS
The Bobby Hawthorne Experience

Caitlin Kolevar, Jackson HS
The Bobby Hawthorne Experience

Samantha VanHoef, Grand Haven HS
The Upstart Staff

Alison Lampman, Bellaire HS
Yearbook Editor Extraordinaire