The Michigan Interscholastic Press Association today honored Waterford Kettering High School Principal Jeffrey Frankowiak as its 2014 Administrator of the Year Award. The award recognizes a school administrator who has shown strong interest in and support for scholastic journalism.

Jeffrey Frankowiak, Waterford Kettering High School

Jeffrey Frankowiak, Waterford Kettering High School

Frankowiak was honored at MIPA’s Spring Awards and On-Site Contests in Lansing, along with nearly 2,500 contest winners in the organization’s statewide scholastic journalism contest.

“Jeff Frankowiak doesn’t just recognize journalism’s place in curriculum, he does everything in his power to make sure journalism maintains a permanent place in our curriculum,” Jesse McLean, adviser to Kettering’s WKHS-TV, wrote in nominating her principal. “He understands the power of the press and the power of having a voice, and wants kids to understand this, too.

Frankowiak has pushed for a number of improvements to Kettering to benefits its growing journalism program, including an LCD panel on the football scoreboard to promote student video work, improved Wi-Fi connections and the construction of a high-quality broadcast studio. Frankowiak also unblocked social media websites such as Facebook and YouTube so that students can view news broadcasts during their lunch periods.

“Frankowiak has invested an indescribable amount of time and effort to make Kettering High School more like a second home for students and a place where they can come to enjoy rather than count down the days until they’re done,” wrote Chris Habba, a senior at Kettering, in support of his principal.


Founded in 1921 and housed in the Michigan State University School of Journalism, the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association is a nonprofit organization composed of scholastic journalism teachers and publications advisers and their students. MIPA is committed to promoting and recognizing excellence in scholastic journalism at all levels through education, training and support of student journalists and their advisers.