2013 On-Site Contest Winners, Round 4 from MIPAMSU on Vimeo. We’ll be posting 2013 Spring Conference On-Site Contest winners here as results come in from our judges. Certificates will be mailed to schools. See video announcements of Round 1Round 2, Round 3 and Round 4 of 2013 On-Site Contest winners.

Carry-In Photo

Student Life


Special Projects

  • First Place: Communicator Staff, Community HS
  • Second Place: Retrospective Staff, Northwest HS
  • Third Place: Brienne O’Donnell, Community HS


Editorial Writing

  • First Place: Jordan Radke & Audrey Kam, Grosse Pointe North HS
  • Second Place: Nic Smith & Brian Wiegand, Gull Lake HS
  • Third Place: Cassidy Connolly & Haley Fox, Mercy HS
  • Honorable Mention: Meg Morrow & Jacob Karafa, Forest Hills Eastern HS; Caitlin Kolevar & Heather Cummings, Jackson HS; Taylor Sprague & Matt Stamler, Jackson HS; Alex Wood & Kelly Arnold, Community HS

News Writing

  • First Place: Sarah Walwema, Rochester HS
  • Second Place: Sabrina Yearling, Northwest HS
  • Third Place: Zach Libby, Rochester HS
  • Honorable Mention: Nicholas Garbaty, Forest Hills Eastern HS; Lydia Hodgson, Forest Hills Eastern HS; Courtney Zhu, Andover HS

Feature Writing

  • First Place: Emalee Cantlin, Northwest HS
  • Second Place: Eileen Pawlik, Mercy HS, and Shelby Roland, Stevenson HS
  • Third Place: Jacob Barry, Grosse Pointe North HS
  • Honorable Mention: Camille Douglas, Rochester HS; Krystal Hamama, Stevenson HS; Jordan Jackson, Jackson HS


See winning yearbook entries in our Pinterest gallery!

Take-Home Spread

  • First Place: Claudia Brzyzinski, Maddie Ford & Kathleen McCarthy, Lahser HS
  • Second Place: Brittany Brockie, Sierra Nicka & Alyssa Stull, Northwest HS
  • Third Place: Kayla Garza, Erika Sullivan & Breanna Allen, Holly HS; and Ross Redmond, Shelby Cartwright & Kendra Sosnoski, Gull Lake HS

Students’ Choice: Student Life

  • First Place: Staff, Utica HS
  • Second Place: Kamala Kanneganti, Allison Fly & Elizabeth Bejin, Grosse Pointe North HS
  • Third Place: Sydney Mentier, Thomas Connolly & Laura Gonda, Lake Orion HS

Students’ Choice: Sports

  • First Place: Katelyn Loomis, Northwest HS
  • Second Place: Savanna Smirnow, Riley Holder & Thomas Connolly, Lake Orion HS
  • Third Place: Staff, Utica HS



  • First Place: WDBC, Lake Orion HS
  • Second Place: SHS Today, Saline HS
  • Third Place: WDBC, Lake Orion HS; and Cat’s Eye News, Novi HS
  • Honorable Mention: The Edge, Lapeer County Educational & Technology Center; Trojan TV, Traverse City East MS


  • First Place: Shane Bagwell & Amanda Eschelman, Traverse City East MS
  • Second Place: Ana Cordera, Lake Orion HS
  • Third Place: Adam Liddicoatt & Patrick Tunison, Lake Orion HS
  • Honorable Mention: Sam Strauss, South Lyon HS

On-Site Video Creation

  • First Place: Alex Cyburt, Aaron Leonard & Connor Hoffman
, Saline HS
  • Second Place: Lindsey Zinbarg, Tiarra Braddock & Marissa Lorenzo, 
Saline HS
  • Third Place: Jacqueline Colvett, Alison Girling & Ted Swietlik
, Lake Orion HS
  • Honorable Mention: Alan Macchiarolo, Ian Irwin & Joey Cieslak
, South Lyon HS

3-Week Film Challenge